Versatile Blogger Award

June 24, 2012

It’s been two weeks since my last blog post, I’m afraid. I’ve been on a sort of holiday as a good friend visited. We’ve been mixing quite a lot of cocktails too!

For this post, I’m going to do something a little different and just mention a few of my favourite blogs.

To be honest, I’d never really read blogs until I started writing this one a few months ago. Since then I’ve found several that I like, particularly, of course, little cocktail-related blogs like mine. I’ve learnt a lot, discovered some great little blogs, and recently was happy to receive this award from one of the blogs that I love to read every week.

I have to admit that it’s a little bit spammy – kind of like a chain letter, but on the other hand, it’s a good reason to mention some blogs I like, and it’s really nice to hear that other people like mine. So here goes with the ‘rules’ (for what they’re worth):

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you.
  • Nominate seven other blogs that you think are amazing.
  • Tell the blogging world seven things about yourself.

Thanks a lot, Putney Farm for nominating me.

Putney Farm is a great blog written by a couple with an orchard/ mini-farm. They post lovely articles and photos of the food they grow and the mouth-watering things they cook with it. And they always mix up a great cocktail to celebrate the fruits of their labour. I love the synergy of purpose and am incredibly envious.

Boozed and Infused is another inspiration. Alicia uses fresh seasonal ingredients to make mouth-watering boozed-up infusions and liqueurs. After reading for a while, I couldn’t stand it anymore, and now I’ve got one done (Lime and Ginger Gin) and two on the go (Mango Liqueur and Kiwifruit Liqueur). That’s inspiration.

And One More for the Road blogs the exploits of a Vancouver bartender. Not just another cocktail blog, Rhett writes great articles about such things as the classification of fortified wines and the science of taste. Fascinating, practical and interesting stuff that takes making great cocktails beyond just following recipes.

Cold Glass is just beautiful. The design is both minimal and jazzed up at the same time, and the photos of the cocktails make me want to cry with envy. If only my cocktail photos were half as good. And I love the line at the top of each page: “You can make these cocktails. Start right now.”

Everyday Drinking provides booze news from Sydney. Being from the Antipodes myself originally, I like to hear a voice from down under discussing bars, spirits, and new products.

GigGuide Taiwan takes me away from the world of cocktails, to Taiwan, and my old mate Steve’s fantastic site. As the name suggests, the Gig Guide provides a great bilingual guide to upcoming gigs in Taiwan. Steve is relentless, and it seems to me that he personally attends and reviews every musical performance in Taiwan. The man’s a machine.

And now for the seven or so things about myself.

Born and raised in New Zealand – Wellington – I love the place to bits.

Been living in Taipei for over a decade now – love this place too. Wish I could live in both.

Only got into cocktails two years ago, and don’t claim to be an expert, but I can’t stop reading and experimenting on the topic.

Lovely wife is my partner in the journey. We started mixing together, but she lost interest in that aspect. Now she just drinks and provides feedback.

Movies are my other passion, and have been for a long time.

Cats are good.

I like pie (well vegetarian pie, anyway).

PS I finally have a logo, thanks to a couple of my students. Shout out to Calvin and Steven. Nice work, lads!

2 Responses to “Versatile Blogger Award”

  1. putneyfarm Says:

    Thanks for the kind words.

    The award thing is a bit spammy, but you just mentioned a few blogs we didn’t know about yet and will have to check out. So, on net, a worthwhile exercise…


Leave a Reply

